The chapter is run by volunteers for its members and the computer graphics community. We operate entirely on contributions from members. Please consider Joining or Donating.


Big Effects for the Small Screen

A fresh look at the new visual effects tools used in to create effects for HD television programs: “CSI”, “The Pacific”, and “The Walking Dead”.

Sunday, 13 March 2011

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the Los Angeles Chapter ACM SIGGRAPH and the Visual Effects Society Presents:

“Big Effects for the Small Screen”.

IMPORTANT: Note updates in the "Registration" sections below.

Join us, Monday, March 14, 2011 for an exciting one night only event on the latest in innovative and award-winning visual effects on television today. This presentation will be devoted to revealing a behind the scenes look at the creation of the visual effects employed in “CSI”, “The Pacific”, and “The Walking Dead”.

Rik Shorten, VFX Supervisor/Producer at Zoic will open the presentations with a compelling look at the creation of the Emmy Award-winning visual effects employed in “CSI: Crime Scene Investigation”. Then John Sullivan, the Visual Effects Supervisor from HBO will lead us through the visual effects on “The Pacific” which garnered both an Emmy and a VES award. Next up will be Jason Sperling, Head of Post Production at Stargate Studios who will showcase the visual effects employed on “The Walking Dead”, the new zombie thriller which debuted on Halloween 2010.


6:30 - 7:30 PM   Social Hour & Hors d'oeuvres, members and their guests
7:30 - 9:30 PM   Presentations (all admitted free of charge)


Admittance is free to members of the Los Angeles Chapter of ACM SIGGRAPH and their guests; members of the The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and their guests; & members the Visual Effects Society and their guests. Membership to the the Los Angeles Chapter of ACM SIGGRAPH is open to all individuals interested in Computer Graphics. The Membership Fee is $ 40.00 per year and includes free admittance to all 10 regularly scheduled LA ACM SIGGRAPH Chapter events.

Special Thanks

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the Leonard H. Goldenson Theaer, the Visual Effects Society, Victoria Campobasso, Barbara Chase, Lauren Shoham, Ivan Rothberg, Mark Spatny, Kevin Pike, Ben Schneider, Kim Van Hoven, Sharon Eisenberg, Diana Lee, Sheriann Ki Sun Burnham, Leonard Daly, Mikki Rose and all the Volunteers.