Best of CAF Screening - 2015

The Traveling Electronic Theater from SIGGRAPH 2015 is coming to our chapter in September. This reel comprises the best shorts from the Electronic Theater and Computer Animation Festival. 20 hours of shorts and excerpts featuring the latest and greatest in Computer Animation are presented here in this approximately 90 minute film.

Tuesday, 8 September 2015

The SIGGRAPH Computer Animation Festival is the leading annual festival for the world's most innovative, accomplished, and amazing digital film and video creators. An internationally recognized jury receives hundreds of submissions and presents the best work of the year in the two programs of the Computer Animation Festival, Daytime Selects and the Electronic Theater. Selections include outstanding achievements in animated feature and short films, scientific visualization, visual effects, real-time graphics, game excerpts, and much more!

The Computer Animation Festival is recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as a qualifying festival. Since 1999, several works originally presented in the Computer Animation Festival have been nominated for or have received a Best Animated Short Academy Award.

By special arrangement with ACM SIGGRAPH, we will be screening the SIGGRAPH 2015 Traveling Electronic Theater. This is the best-of from the Computer Animation Festival and includes shorts not shown in the SIGGRAPH show.


6:45-7:30   Doors open and Social Hour
7:30-7:45   Introductions
7:45-9:30   Screening


This event is limited to the first 50 LA ACM SIGGRAPH Chapter members. Non-members may make purchase tickets from Cinefamily.

All LA ACM SIGGRAPH members will be admitted free of charge and provided with a ticket for popcorn and soft drink. Non-members of LA ACM SIGGRAPH are admitted at the public rate for Cinefamily events and do not receive a ticket for popcorn and soft drink. Non-members can sign up for or renew their membership ($40) at the door to get the member benefits.

The chapter accepts checks, cash, or credit cards (Mastercard or Visa only) for all dues or fees.

Special Thanks

Cinefamily theaters, ACM SIGGRAPH Animation Committee (Mikki Rose, Joe Takai, and Maya Karp - presenter), Di Piepol, Sheri KiSun Burnham, the Executive Council, and all the volunteers.